events

broom center seminar series

2022/23 Schedule

Seminars are held on Mondays 1:00 - 2:15 pm in North Hall 2111, unless otherwise specified. For regular email updates on Seminar access, click on the "subscribe" button on this page.

FALL

Monday, October 10: Aashish Mehta (UCSB, Global Studies) and Zachary Bleemer (Yale, Economics) "College Major Restrictions and Student Stratification"

Monday, October 24 (remote): Amber Wutich (Arizona State, Human Evolution and Social Change) "Bad Relations? Cross-cultural Patterning in Water Sharing and Mental III-health" Host: David Lawson

Monday, October 31: Lab Open House: 12:15 pm NH 1053 (Broom lab), lunch provided.
Student presentations: 1:00 NH 2111: Nicoline Josephine Bach, Amelia Pludow, Sophia Arabadjis

Monday, November 7: Waverly Duck (UCSB, Sociology) and Andrea Richardson (Rand) "Impacts on Discriminatory Mortgage Lending Practices on Obesity" 

Monday, November 21: Marianne Page (UC Davis, Economics) "Generational Persistence in the Effects of an Early Childhood Health Intervention" Host: Shelly Lundberg

Monday, November 28

Notes:  
Friday Nov 11 is a university holiday.
Thanksgiving is Thurs Nov 24. 

WINTER

Monday, January 9: Susan Alberts (Duke, Biology and Evolutionary Anthropology) Host: Nicole Thompson Gonzáles

Monday, January 23 (remote): René Flores (University of Chicago, Sociology) Host Maria Charles

Monday, January 30: Emily G. Jacobs (UCSB, Psychological and Brain Sciences) "The Scientific Body of Knowledge - Whose Body does it Serve? A Spotlight on Women's Brain Health"

Monday, February 6: Christin L. Munsch (University of Conneticut, Sociology) Host: Cate Taylor

Monday, February 27: Erin Lentz (University of Texas, Austin) Host: Kathy Baylis

Monday, March 13: Caitlin Meyers (Middlebury, Economics)  Host: Heather Royer

Notes: Mon Jan 16 and Mon Feb 20 are university holidays

SPRING

Monday, April 10: Ann Owens (USC) Host: Liz Ackert

Monday, April 24: Annie Ro (UC Irvine, Public Health) "Undocumented Immigrants' Medical Needs in Los Angeles County: Using Electronic Medical Records to Understand the Role of Local Health Policies in Improving Health" Host: Erika Arenas

Monday, May 8: Noli Brazil (UC Davis) Host: Stuart Sweeney

Monday, May 22: Mahasin Muhajid (UC Berkeley) Host: Mike Gurven

Monday, June 5: Alyssa Crittenden (University of Nevada) Host: Mike Gurven

Notes: Mon May 31 is a university holiday

Broom Past Seminars